Monday, December 22, 2008

Bradford Named AP Player of the Year

Oklahoma Sooner Football Articles and Notes

Sam Bradford named Associated Press player of the year: Sam Bradford of Oklahoma was voted The Associated Press college football player of the year Monday. He beat out the same two quarterbacks he did in capturing the Heisman Trophy -- Colt McCoy of Texas and Tim Tebow of Florida. Bradford received 27 votes from the AP media panel that votes in the weekly poll. The sophomore quarterback was followed by McCoy with 17 votes. Tebow won the award last year and had 16 votes this time. Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree had two votes. Bradford is the third Oklahoma player to win the AP award, which began in 1998. The others were Josh Heupel in 2000 and Jason White in 2003. (AP/USA Today)
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This