Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Sam Bradford named Big 12 Offense Player of the Year

Oklahoma Sooner Football Articles and Notes

Nine Sooners named to All-Big 12 team; Stoops earns coaches honor: Oklahoma produced the coach of the year, the offensive player of the year and a total of nine first-team honorees on the 2008 All-Big 12 Conference Football Team announced Tuesday. Bob Stoops shared coach of the year honors with Texas Tech's Mike Leach, while Sam Bradford was named the league's top offensive player. Center Jon Cooper earned lineman of the year honors and redshirt freshman linebacker Travis Lewis was the defensive freshman of the year. Joining Bradford on the first team offense from Oklahoma were running back DeMarco Murray, fullback Matt Clapp, tight end Jermaine Gresham, tackle Phil Loadholt, tackle Trent Williams and guard Duke Robinson. Sooners on the first team defense included tackle Gerald McCoy and safety Nic Harris. The second team offense included OU wide receiver Juaquin Iglesias and Cooper. The second team defense contained defensive end Jeremy Beal, Lewis, cornerback Dominique Franks and safety Lendy Holmes. OU's honorable mention picks were running back Chris Brown, linebacker Keenan Clayton and offensive guard Brandon Walker. ( PR)

Did you know? Sam Bradford is the third Oklahoma player to be named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year.

Related: 2008 All-Big 12 Football Awards Announced
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This