Cherokees to Honor Sam Bradford

Oklahoma Sooner Football Articles and Notes

Bradford set to be honored by Cherokee Nation: University of Oklahoma quarterback and Cherokee Nation citizen Sam Bradford will be honored during a special ceremony on Friday, April 17, beginning at 6 p.m. at the Place Where They Play activity center, located on the campus of Sequoyah Schools in Tahlequah. "Leadership is an attribute we seek to identify in our young people, and we witnessed the accomplishments of one such Cherokee leader, Sam Bradford," said Chad Smith, Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation. "Sam has graciously and quietly assumed the leadership of his team and led them to the national championship game. He also received several awards along the way, including the prestigious Heisman Trophy, yet in doing so he never ignored this team or his teammates." Bradford is the first Cherokee Nation citizen to win the Heisman Trophy. His style and skill in leading the Oklahoma Sooners football team have made him a positive role model and an inspiration to Native American youth across the nation. Representatives of several Native American tribes, dignitaries and tribal elders will be on hand during the event to help honor Bradford, and the event will begin with a grand entry of tribal flags, complete with a flag song and posting of colors. Following a brief welcome, Smith will interview Bradford, discussing areas of the importance of leadership, setting goals, living a healthy life and more. There is no cost to attend the special honoring ceremony and the public is invited. Due to the size and nature of the event, seating is limited. As per University of Oklahoma and NCAA guidelines, no autographs or personal photos with Bradford will be available at this event. For more information, contact Diana Turtle at (918) 453-5289. (Cherokee Nation PR)

Bradford picks up more awards: After staying up late Monday evening to receive the Headliner Award, Sam Bradford was up early Tuesday morning for more hardware during OU's Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar Athlete Breakfast. The Oklahoma quarterback was one of the recipients of the Athletic Director's Leadership Award and the Dan Gibbens Outstanding Scholar Athlete of the Year. (The Oklahoman)
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This