Thursday, August 13, 2009

Beal, Lewis, McCoy on Bednarik Watch List

Trio of Sooners on Bednarik List: Oklahoma's Jeremy Beal, Travis Lewis and Gerald McCoy are on the watch list for the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award. Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski made the announcement today. Beal, a junior from Carrollton, Texas, started all 14 games at defensive end last season and was a firs-team All-Big 12 player by the Associated Press. He finished with 61 tackles, including 15.5 for loss with 8.5 sacks and three fumbles caused. Lewis, a sophomore linebacker from San Antonio, Texas, was Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year in 2008 when he notched 144 tackles with 11.5 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks. He broke Brian Bosworth's freshman tackle record, which stood at 133. McCoy, a junior from Oklahoma City, was a first-team All-American last season by The Sporting News. He had 30 tackles from his defensive tackle position along with 11 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. The only previous Oklahoma winner was LB Teddy Lehman, who claimed the honor in 2003.(SoonerSports PR)
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This