Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Sooners Projected to Win Big 12 South

IRVING, Texas -- Nebraska is the unanimous choice to repeat as the North division champion while Oklahoma has been selected first in the South in the 2010 Big 12 Football Preseason Poll, voted on by media representatives who cover the Conference.

The Cornhuskers received all 26 first-place votes and totaled 156 points. Missouri placed second, followed by Kansas State, Kansas, Colorado and Iowa State.

NU has been selected to win the North nine times and captured the division title in seven of those seasons. The Huskers have won outright or tied for the North crown on eight occasions and went on to become Big 12 champions in 1997 and 1999.

OU compiled 16 first-place votes in the South to finish with 146 points. Texas received the other 10 top votes and placed second with 140 points. Texas A&M was third ahead of Texas Tech, Oklahoma State and Baylor.

The Sooners lead the Big 12 with six Conference championships (2000, '02, '04, '06, '07, '08) and seven appearances in the title game. They have been picked first in the South eight times in the media preseason poll and finished the season at the top in five of those years. (

Big 12 South Points
1. Oklahoma (16) 146
2. Texas (10) 140
3. Texas A&M 97
4. Texas Tech 68
5. Oklahoma State 53
6. Baylor 42

Big 12 North Points
1. Nebraska (26) 156
2. Missouri 125
3. Kansas State 79
4. Kansas 70
5. Colorado 61
6. Iowa State 55
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This