OU Golf: Pair of Sooners Earn Postseason Honors

NORMAN, Okla. -- Four days after leading Oklahoma to a Big 12 Women’s Golf Championship crown, head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell and sophomore Chirapat Jao-Javanil have earned conference honors. Drouin-Luttrell was voted Big 12 Coach of the Year on Thursday while Jao-Javanil was named to the all-conference team.

Drouin-Luttrell joins former head coach Carol Ludvigson (2001) as the only OU coaches to earn thehonor, and Jao-Javanil’s All-Big 12 accolade was the second straight for the sophomore. The coach-of-the-year award was voted upon by the league’s head coaches, while the 10-member All-Big 12 team was selected automatically based on the most recent Golfweek/Sagarin individual ratings.

"This is such an honor to receive this award," said Drouin-Luttrell. "I'm speechless. Thank you to all the girls on the team for believing in my vision here at the University of Oklahoma and to continue working hard to accomplish our goals.”

This past weekend, Drouin-Luttrell, who is in her third season at OU, directed the Sooners to their first Big 12 Championship in 12 years. Of the team’s nine tournaments thus far this season, OU has claimed three titles (Big 12 Championship, Golfweek Conference Challenge and Susie Maxwell Berning Classic) and three other top-five finishes, including a pair of second-place showings. The five top-two finishes have tied a single-season school record.

Jao-Javanil, who ranks No. 47 nationally, has recorded seven top-20 finishes this year, five of them in the top 10. She posted wins at the Golfweek Conference Challenge in the fall and the Central District Invitational this spring, and also finished second at the Big 12 Championship (one shot behind the winner). From Hua Hin, Thailand, Jao-Javanil owns a 73.93 stroke average this year, third best in school history. Last year she averaged a school-record 73.82 strokes per round.

For her career, Jao-Javanil has posted 16 top-20 finishes out of the 20 total tournaments in which she has competed.

The 28th-ranked Sooners are the No. 9 seed in the NCAA West Regional that will take place May 10-12 in Erie, Colo.

All-Big 12 Team
Chelsey Cothran, Baylor
Hayley Davis, Baylor
Chirapat Jao-Javanil, Oklahoma
Jayde Panos, Oklahoma State
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Nicole Vandermade, Texas
Mary Michael Maggio, Texas A&M
Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M
Gabriella Dominguez, Texas Tech
Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech

Coach of the Year
Veronique Drouin-Luttrell, Oklahoma

Player of the Year
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State

Newcomer of the Year
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This