Thursday, July 19, 2012

Five Sooners Named to Preseason All-Big 12 Team

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma tied its instate rival for most selections to the 2012 Preseason All-Big 12 Team with five while freshman receiver Trey Metoyer was tabbed as the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year the league office announced on Wednesday.

OU had three selections on the offensive side of the ball in center Ben Habern, offensive lineman Gabe Ikard and receiver Kenny Stills while placing two on the defensive side, safety Tony Jefferson and defensive tackle Jamarkus McFarland.

Habern is the lone repeat selection on the preseason offensive team after earning the honor in 2011. The senior center is joined on the line by his teammate, Ikard, who was a 2011 All-Big 12 First Team selection following the conclusion of the season. Stills was named to the 2011 All-Big 12 Second Team after recording 61 receptions for 849 yards and eight touchdowns.

Honorable mention All-Big 12 last season, Jefferson led OU with four interceptions and was third on the team with 74 tackles at the defensive back position. McFarland started seven games for the Sooners in 2011 at defensive tackle while playing in all 13, recording 20 tackles, 3.5 of which went for loss.

Metoyer earned preseason Newcomer of the Year honors after a catching 108 passes for 1,540 yards and 23 touchdowns as a senior in 2010 at Whitehouse (Texas) High School. After spending a year at Hargrave Military Academy, Metoyer led all OU players with six receptions for 72 yards at the team's annual spring game in April.

See More:
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This