Thursday, July 19, 2012

OU QB Landry Jones Placed on Davey O'Brien List

Landry Jones #12 of the Oklahoma Sooners throws against the Oklahoma State Cowboys at Boone Pickens Stadium on December 3, 2011 in Stillwater, Oklahoma. (December 2, 2011 - Source: Ronald Martinez/Getty Images North America)
NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma's Landry Jones was named to the preseason watch list for the Davey O'Brien Award announced on Wednesday by The Davey O'Brien Foundation.

A semifinalist for the award in 2011, Jones leads the NCAA with 12,379 career passing yards and 93 career touchdowns. Wednesday's announcement marked OU's 19th appearance on a preseason awards watch list.

The Artesia, N.M., native enters the season tied with current OU running backs coach Cale Gundy (1990-93) for most career starts by a quarterback with 37 and is just three wins away from tying Steve Davis (1973-75) for the OU career victories record of 32 wins.

OU athletes have captured the Davey O'Brien Award four times in program history with Sam Bradford the last to do so in 2008. Jason White won the award in 2003 and 2004 while Billy Sims captured the honor in 1978 prior to the award's current format of being given to the nation's top quarterback.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2012 college football season.

Seven 2011 semifinalists are included on the Watch List: Matt Barkley (USC), Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Seth Doege (Texas Tech), Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Keith Price (Washington), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Tyler Wilson (Arkansas).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22.

The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

///SoonerSports PR

QB Landry Jones Nominated to AFCA Good Works Team
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This