OU's Merv Johnson to Receive Bill Teegins Award

NORMAN, Okla. -- Organizers of the Warren Spahn Award Gala announced Tuesday that Merv Johnson, University of Oklahoma color analyst on the Sooner Radio Network, is the 2012 Bill Teegins Excellence in Sportscasting Award winner.

The Teegins Award is presented annually to an outstanding sportscaster with Oklahoma ties. Johnson serves as director of football operations for the University of Oklahoma along with being a member of the radio broadcast team for Oklahoma football. A member of four coaching staffs that have won national championships, Johnson brings a wealth of coaching and player experience to his radio broadcasting of Oklahoma football.

"I knew Bill Teegins for years and always knew him to bring class and professionalism to everything he did. To be associated with an award that bears his name is quite flattering," said Johnson.

University of Oklahoma vice president for intercollegiate athletics and director of athletics Joe Castiglione applauded Johnson receiving the Teegins Award.

"Merv Johnson is a most deserving recipient of the 2012 Bill Teegins Excellence in Sportscasting Award," Castiglione said. "All of us at the University of Oklahoma possess a deep appreciation and admiration for Bill's lasting legacy. I know Merv is humbled by joining the elite company of broadcasters who have received this prestigious honor that bears Bill's name.

"Owing 34 years of experience on the sidelines and in the broadcast booth, Merv brings his unique perspective and unbridled knowledge of Oklahoma football to our fans every time we step on the field. We join Sooners everywhere in congratulating Merv on this recognition as he continues to contribute to the vibrant history of state and our University in so many ways."

The Teegins Award honors previous OSU men's basketball play-by-play announcer Bill Teegins, who died tragically in a 2001 plane crash, along with 10 OSU basketball players and support personnel. Teegins donated many hours to the Oklahoma sports community as a volunteer and was inducted posthumously into the Oklahoma Sports of Fame in 2001 and the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 2002.

The Teegins Award will be presented to Johnson at the Warren Spahn Award Gala, hosted by Oklahoma City's Bricktown Rotary Club and the Jim Thorpe Association. The gala will be held on Jan. 17 at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame & Jim Thorpe Museum in Oklahoma City. Tickets are available now. Proceeds benefit several local charities.

Previous Teegins Award winners include John Anderson, Dave Hunziker, John Brooks, Bob Carpenter, Joe Simpson, Bob Barry Sr., Bobby Murcer, Curt Gowdy, Ross Porter, Bill Mercer and John Rooney.

In addition to the Teegins Award, the Warren Spahn Award will be presented at the gala to this year's best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball. The 2012 Spahn Award winner is Gio Gonzalez of the Washington Nationals.

For more information, please visit okcspahnawards.com. To purchase tickets, contact Bill Hickman at (405) 605-2375 or email hickman@hickmanlawgroup.com.

/// PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This