Thursday, March 7, 2013

Seven Sooners Earn Lage Award

Seven University of Oklahoma student-athletes have earned the Big 12's second annual Dr. Gerald Lage award, the conference's highest academic honor.

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

 2013 Oklahoma Dr. Gerald Lage Award Winners
 Student-Athlete  Year  Sport  Major
 Jacy Bennett  Senior  Track and Field  Supply Chain Management
 Laura Combs  Junior  Rowing  Environmental Sustainability
 Patrick Graham  Senior  Wrestling  Latin American Studies
 Whitney Hand  Senior  Basketball  Graduate - Human Relations
 Gabe Ikard  Junior  Football  Multidisciplinary Studies
 Katharine Nutman  Senior  Soccer  History
 Ryan Proctor  Junior  Tennis  Mechanical Engineering

The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04). Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor.

During his tenure at OSU, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87), and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

The 75 Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships. 

/// PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This