Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Golf: Sooners to Host NCAA Central Regional

The NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2013 NCAA Golf Championships, including the 24 squads and six individuals who will compete in the NCAA Central Regional May 9-11 in Norman. Ranked No. 4 nationally, the University of Oklahoma will be the No.2 seed next week when competition begins at the 6,298-yard, par-72 Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club.

The Central Regional is one of three 54-hole events that will serve as a preliminary round for the NCAA Championship finals. The low eight teams and low two individuals not on an advancing team from each regional will move on to the finals, to be held May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.

The NCAA East Regional will be held in Auburn, Ala., at the Auburn University Club, while the West Regional will be played in Stanford, Calif., at the Stanford Golf Course.

OU head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell's squad is coming off of a fourth-place finish at the Big 12 Championships in Rhodes, Iowa. It was the team's eighth top-five finish of the season in nine events. The Sooners have won a school-record-tying three tournaments and finished in second place in three others.
"It's exciting for us to be seeded number two," said Drouin-Luttrell "We've worked hard to be where we are and it's great to see the hard work pay off. But we still have to go out there and play golf next week."

Other Big 12 teams who qualified for NCAA Regionals are Baylor, Iowa State, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas and Texas Tech. Iowa State, TCU and Texas Tech will compete in Norman.

Last season the Sooners advanced to the NCAA Championships for the first time since 2002 by finishing in eighth place at the three-round, 24-team NCAA West Regional in Erie, Colo. Chirapat Jao-Javanil was the team's top finisher at the West Regional, finishing in a tie for fifth place. OU then finished a school-record-tying sixth at the NCAA Championships in Franklin, Tenn., as Jao-Javanil became the program's first national champion in women's golf.

NCAA Central Regional Field (Golfweek/Sagarin Ranking):
1. Duke (3)
2. Oklahoma (4)
3. Florida (12)
4. Washington (10)
5. Arizona State (13)
6. UC Davis (25)
7. Texas Tech (24)
8. North Carolina State (20)
9. Michigan State (26)
10. Iowa State (22)
11. SMU (36)
12. Campbell (35)
13. Coastal Carolina (42)
14. Wake Forest (37)
15. TCU (45)
16. Gonzaga (46)
17. Indiana (57)
18. UTSA (51)
19. Mississippi State (55)
20. Wisconsin (58)
21. Lamar (87)
22. Illinois State (135)
23. Detroit (170)
24. Butler (179)

1. Fanny Cnops, UNC-Greensboro
2. Lori Beth Adams, UNC-Wilmington
3. Emma Henrikson, San Diego State
4. Julia Roth, Central Arkansas
5. Paige Spiranic, San Diego State
6. Christine Wong, San Diego State
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This