Thursday, April 18, 2013

OU Wrestling Celebrates Season With Year-End Banquet

The University of Oklahoma wrestling team celebrated the 2012-13 season Sunday afternoon with its annual postseason banquet at the Lloyd Noble Center Chesapeake Energy Courtside Club in Norman.

The Oklahoma coaching staff and wrestlers were joined by friends and family in celebration of the past year's accomplishments with dinner and season highlights. The voice of Sooner wrestling, heard at all of OU's home matches, Tyler Wilkey served as the night's host. Additionally, several Sooners went home with awards handed out by OU Head Coach Mark Cody and assistant coaches Michael Lightner and Jared Frayer.

Kendric Maple was awarded Most Outstanding Wrestler for the second-straight year after he brought home OU's first national championship title in eight years, and garnered the second All-America honors of his career donning the Crimson and Cream.

Additionally, Maple took home the Danny Hodge Most Pins Award after he totaled a team-high seven pins on the year and was named the Wayne Wells Award winner for academic and athletic excellence. The Wichita, Kan., native finished his redshirt junior season with an unscathed 31-0 record, and 4.0 GPA. It was the second time in as many years that Maple earned the awards, as he took home both awards last year.

Joining Maple was fellow All-American and Most Outstanding Freshman, Cody Brewer, who had a phenomenal break-out campaign as one of the team's newcomers after he finished seventh at NCAA's and picked up the first All-America honors of his career in Des Moines, Iowa at the 2013 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships.

All five of Oklahoma's graduating seniors - Scott Chene, Dillon Dennis, Bubby Graham, Keldrick Hall and Nolan McBryde - were celebrated for their contribution and commitment to the Oklahoma Wrestling program throughout their time as student-athletes at OU.

Hall was also awarded the Jimmy White Award, given to a select wrestler on the basis of athletic ability, team contribution, individual achievement and team spirit in addition to his senior celebration. Fellow senior Bubby Graham was also named the team's Most Improved Wrestler, after the 165-pounder ended the season with a 24-6 overall record and totaled nine wins over top-25 opponents.

Justin DeAngelis was honored with the Warrior Award for his efforts on the mat throughout the year. The 157-pound redshirt sophomore continuously stepped up to the occasion whenever it was called upon, and always practiced his hardest in the wrestling room, motivating his teammates and pushing them to work harder.

Clark Glass was named Most Outstanding Redshirt after a stellar year that saw him post a 21-5 record on the year, total six major decisions, record four tech falls and pin six opponents.

The 11th man award was given to Chris Watson, the team's athletic trainer, for his strong support of the coaches and student-athletes throughout the year.

Oklahoma recorded a 7-11 record on the year, went 3-3 in Big 12 competition and capped the season with a 12th-place finish at NCAAs in Cody's second season as head coach.

2013 Oklahoma Wrestling Banquet Award Winners
Most Outstanding Wrestler: Kendric Maple
Most Improved: Bubby Graham
Most Outstanding Redshirt: Clark Glass
Most Outstanding Freshman: Cody Brewer
Jimmy White Award: Keldrick Hall
Warrior Award: Justin Deangelis
11th Man Award: Chris Watson
Wayne Wells Award : Kendric Maple
Danny Hodge Most Pins Award: Kendric Maple
All-American Awards: Kendric Maple and Cody Brewer
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This