Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Report: Cowboys Stadium to Host First College Football Playoff Championship Game

College Football Playoff will be the name of the four-team playoff, which begins after the 2014 regular season.

Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will be awarded college football playoff's first national championship on Jan. 12, 2015, sources told ESPN.

Also the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-fil-A bowls will join the Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls in the six-bowl semifinal rotation for the new playoff, sources said.

The site of the title game in the first season of the new four-team event was discussed Tuesday by BCS commissioners, a source said. Tampa, Fla., and Arlington were the only two cities that bid for the game.

Arlington has been a prohibitive favorite for several months, but an impressive package from Tampa made it a tough decision, sources said.

"It was closer than a lot of people thought it would be," a source said.

The official vote and announcement of the first title game and semifinal sites will be made Thursday from the Langham Hotel in Pasadena. (ESPN.com)

Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This