Monday, April 29, 2013

Tennis: Four Sooners Earn Academic Honors

Four members of the University of Oklahoma women’s tennis team were named to the 2013 Academic All-Big 12 teams, announced by the conference Tuesday, April 23.

Juniors Mia Lancaster, Whitney Ritchie and Whitney Wofford and sophomore Abbi Melrose earned first team honors.

Lancaster and Ritchie earned academic honors for the second straight year, making the second team last year, while Melrose and Wofford made the list for the first time.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA and must have participated in 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contests.

The 36th-ranked Oklahoma women’s tennis team will open the 2013 Big 12 Championship at the No. 6 seed on Friday, April 26, against three-seeded Texas at 3 p.m., at Headington Family Tennis Center in Norman, Okla.

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This