Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Golf: OU Headed to NCAA Tallahassee Regional

The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee selected the University of Oklahoma men's golf team on Monday night as one of the 13 teams that will compete in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional. The tournament will be played May 16-18 at the 6,965-yard, par-72 Golden Eagle Golf and Country Club in Tallahassee, Fla.

Ranked 25th nationally, the Sooners will be the regional's No. 5 seed and will be making their third straight NCAA Regional appearance. The NCAA berth marks the 41st postseason appearance for OU.

"We are looking forward to going down to Florida," fourth-year OU head coach Ryan Hybl said. "On paper, it looks like a very tough spot for us. But our guys knew that we will have to play well no matter where we ended up."

The 54-hole tournament, one of six NCAA Regionals, will feature 18 holes each day and serve as a preliminary round for the NCAA Championship finals. The low five teams and the low individual not on those five teams will advance to the finals, slated for May 28-June 2 at the Capital City Club Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

NCAA regional events will also be held in Baton Rouge, La.; Columbus, Ohio; Fayetteville, Ark.; Tempe, Ariz.; and Pullman, Wash.

Other Big 12 teams who qualified for NCAA Regionals are Baylor, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas and Texas Tech.

Hybl's squad is coming off a third-place finish at the Big 12 Championship in Hutchinson, Kan., its highest conference showing since winning in 2006.

Last season, the Sooners advanced to the NCAA Championships finals for the second straight year and the 33rd time overall by finishing fifth at the NCAA Regional in Norman, Okla. Michael Gellerman was the team's top finisher in the event, placing fifth.

OU then finished 11th at the national tournament in Pacific Palisades, Calif., the program's best showing since placing ninth 1993. Will Kropp tied for ninth place en route to earning All-America honors.

The NCAA Tallahassee Regional Field (Golfweek/Sagarin Ranking):

1. Washington (6)
2. Georgia Tech (9)
3. Florida State (12)
4. North Florida (18)
5. Oklahoma (25)
6. Wake Forest (40)
7. North Carolina State (51)
8. Oregon (44)
9. Oregon State (53)
10. Iowa (54)
11. South Florida (65)
12. San Diego (64)
13. Loyola Maryland

1. Sean Bosdosh, Maryland
2. J.T. Poston, Western Carolina
3. Maverick Antcliff, Augusta State
4. Richard Fountain, Davidson
5. Ryan Fricker, Bethune-Cookman
6. Trey Rule, Mercer
7. Daniel Walker, Richmond
8. Edward Figueroa, Florida Gulf Coast
9. Alex Wennstam, Augusta State
10. Hans Reimers, Mercer

/// SoonerSports PR

Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This