Friday, May 3, 2013

Golf: OU Trio Claims Postseason Awards

University of Oklahoma junior golfers Chirapat "Ja" Jao-Javanil, Anne-Catherine Tanguay and Emily Collins were named to the 2013 All-Big 12 Conference Team on Wednesday.

Oklahoma State head coach Alan Bratton claimed his first Big 12 Coach of the Year accolade, while Baylor's Lauren Taylor was selected as Newcomer of the Year and Texas Tech's Kim Kaufman was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Five teams placed student-athletes on the 10-person All-Big 12 Team, but Oklahoma is the only school with three players represented.

"I'm really proud of Ja, Anne-Catherine and Emily for being named to the All-Big 12 Team," said OU head coach Veronique Drouin-Luttrell. "They've put in a lot of time and effort all year and I'm happy it paid off for them."

The defending NCAA champion, Jao-Javanil was named to the All-Big 12 team for the second consecutive year. The Hua-Hin, Thailand, product, who ranks 11th nationally by Golfweek, has recorded eight top-20 finishes in nine events this year, six of them in the top 10. She posted wins at the Susie Maxwell Berning Classic in the fall and at the SunTrust Gator Invitational this spring. Jao-Javanil owns a team-low 72.26 stroke average, the best in school history.

Tanguay is ranked No. 26 nationally. Her 73.04 season stroke average is the second best in OU history. Tanguay has finished in the top 20 in all nine of this year's events and has placed in the top 10 on six occasions. She finished in a season-best third place at last week's Big 12 Championship.

Collins has placed in the top 20 in six of nine tournaments this season (four top-10 showings) and is ranked as the No. 60 player in the country. Collins, who has 10 career top-20 finishes, tied for third place at the Clover Cup in March.

The fourth-ranked Sooners will see action next week when they host the 24-team NCAA Central Regional May 9-11 (Thursday-Saturday) at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club. They will be the regional's No. 2 seed. The top eight teams advance to the NCAA Championships, to be held May 21-24 in Athens, Ga.

2013 All-Big 12 Women's Golf Team
Hayley Davis, Baylor
Lauren Taylor, Baylor
Chirapat Jao-Javanil, Oklahoma
Anne-Catherine Tanguay, Oklahoma
Emily Collins, Oklahoma
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State
Julie Yang, Oklahoma State
Desiree Dubreuil, Texas
Katelyn Sepmoree, Texas
Kimberly Kaufman, Texas Tech

Player of the Year
Kelsey Vines, Oklahoma State

Newcomer of the Year
Lauren Taylor, Baylor

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kim Kaufman, Texas Tech

Coach of the Year
Alan Bratton, Oklahoma State

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This