Friday, May 3, 2013

Wright, Ikard Among Honorees at NFF Awards

Oklahoma assistant head coach Bobby Jack Wright and senior offensive lineman Gabe Ikard will both be honored at the 29th annual National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner at the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame on June 6.

Wright is the 2013 recipient of the Merv Johnson Integrity in College Coaching Award. A member of Bob Stoops’ coaching staff since 1999, Wright currently coaches the OU cornerbacks in addition to his duties as assistant head coach.

The Mission, Texas native has mentored numerous defensive talents for the Sooners, including defensive end David King, who was selected in the 2013 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles. Pro Football Hall of Fame cornerback Darrell Green headlines the many other talented pupils that Wright has tutored during his distinguished career. The honor Wright is receiving is named after longtime OU coach and current director of football operations, Merv Johnson.

Ikard is one of four players from the state of Oklahoma being honored as the NFF Jim Thorpe College Players of the Year. The Oklahoma City, Okla., native has played in 39 games (37 starts) on the offensive line for the Sooners. A two-time All-Big 12 First Team selection, Ikard earned a spot on the Capital One Academic All-America First Team in 2012 and was also a finalist for the Wuerffel Trophy finalist. He carries a 4.0 cumulative GPA in multidisciplinary studies.

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This