Wrestling: Seven Sooners Named Academic All-Big 12

A league-best seven Oklahoma wrestlers have been named to the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling First Team, the conference announced Wednesday.

All of the Sooners recognized are in the starting lineup, and five named to the team are in graduate school, including redshirt senior Andrew Howe (human relations), redshirt senior Nick Lester (human relations), redshirt senior Kendric Maple (adult and higher education), redshirt senior Jarrod Patterson (human relations) and redshirt senior Travis Rutt (health and exercise science). Completing the list are redshirt sophomore Cody Brewer (sociology) and redshirt freshman Clark Glass (biology).

Find the latest on OU Wrestling.

"We are happy that our program is moving in the right direction academically," OU head coach Mark Cody said. "Our academic support team here at the University of Oklahoma led by Mike Meade is second to none. Our student-athletes are here to get an education first, and we stress the importance of staying focused on their academics every day. I'm very proud of each of these young men."

With the recognition, Maple and Patterson became two-time first team selections. Maple, who was one of two wrestlers nominated with a 4.0 GPA, also has a second team honor to his name.

A total of sixteen wrestling student-athletes from the four Big 12 schools received either first or second team recognition. OU and Oklahoma State tied with seven overall selections, with six of OSU’s wrestlers being named to the first team.

First team consists of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Sooners are in action this weekend as they host the Big 12 Championship inside McCasland Field House. Semifinal matches are scheduled to begin at 3 p.m., with third-place matches at 5 p.m. and championship matches at 7 p.m. Doors open at 1:30 p.m. Limited tickets are still available online or by calling the OU Athletics Ticket Office at (405) 325-2424 or toll-free at (800) 456-GoOU.

2014 Academic All-Big 12 Wrestling Team
First Team (3.20 or better GPA)
Gabriel Moreno, Iowa State
Cody Brewer, Oklahoma
Clark Glass, Oklahoma
Andrew Howe, Oklahoma
Nick Lester, Oklahoma
Kendric Maple, Oklahoma
Jarrod Patterson, Oklahoma
Travis Rutt, Oklahoma

Darnell Bortz, Oklahoma State
Nolan Boyd, Oklahoma State
Tommy Diaz, Oklahoma State
Josh Kindig, Oklahoma State
Chris Perry, Oklahoma State
Tyler Caldwell, Oklahoma State

Second Team (3.00-3.19 GPA)
Blake Rosholt, Oklahoma State
Nathan Pennesi, West Virginia

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This