Wednesday, April 23, 2014

W Tennis: Seven Sooners Earn Big 12 Academic Honors

Photo Courtesy:
Seven members of the University of Oklahoma women’s tennis team were named to the 2014 Academic All-Big 12 teams, announced the conference Tuesday, April 22.

Seniors Mia Lancaster, Whitney Ritchie and Whitney Wofford, junior Abbi Melrose and sophomore Emma Devine earned first team honors.

Lancaster and Ritchie earned academic honors for the third straight year and were named the No. 1 doubles Big 12 position champions after compiling a 7-1 record. Wofford and Melrose each earned their second first team honors.

FIND MORE: Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!

Senior Hermon Brhane and sophomore Zita Engbroks earned second team honors. This is the first academic honor for both players.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. Both teams require that student-athletes have participated in 60 percent of the team’s scheduled contests.

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This