Rowing: Sooners Earn CRCA Awards

Oklahoma rowing senior Kristin Clift was named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-Region South First Team and 11 Sooners were named CRCA Scholar-Athletes.

In addition to the All-Region selection, Clift's growing list of honors includes both Big 12 and Conference USA Rower of the Year honors in addition to all-conference first team honors for each league. A member of the first varsity eight that won its races at both the Big 12 and C-USA championship regattas to help OU to team titles for each conference, Clift is also an Academic All-Big 12 First Team and C-USA Honor Roll honoree.

OU has claimed a total of seven All-Region selections in just six years of existence as a program, including at least one award in each of the last five years.

FIND MORE: Are you on Google+? Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season. These athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Championships.

Clift also was one of 11 OU rowers on the CRCA Scholar-Athlete list, joining Marissa Beene, Rachel Cantrell, Reagan Collins, Laura Combs, Marilyn Kozlowski, Allison Kwiecinski, Kim Moldenhauer, Jennifer O'Grady, Emmie Preskitt and Megan Quinn.

The Sooners' 11 honorees tied for second most in the nation and marks the fifth straight year 10 or more OU rowers have been honored.

CRCA Scholar-Athletes must be beyond their first year of eligibility, participated in a minimum of 75 percent of spring races and have a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher for their career.

Oklahoma is in Indianapolis preparing for the NCAA Championships held this weekend, May 30 - June 1. The Sooners are among the best in the country competing in the season's final weekend for the second consecutive year after finishing No. 17 in 2013.

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This