Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Sterling Shepard Semifinalist For Biletnikoff Award

Brett Deering/Getty Images
The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., the creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, announced Monday that University of Oklahoma junior wide receiver Sterling Shepard is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award. The award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football, regardless of position (any player at any position who catches a pass is eligible).

The Oklahoma City native currently ranks third in the Big 12 and 11th in the FBS, averaging 106.3 receiving yards per game this season. He owns five 100-yard games in 2014 and has registered two of the top five single-game receiving performance in Oklahoma history this year. He also tied a single-game school record with 15 receptions against Kansas State. He currently has 50 receptions for 957 yards (19.1 avg.) this season for the Sooners.

Semifinalists for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award are: (listed in alphabetical order)
Nelson AgholorUniversity of Southern CaliforniaJunior
Amari CooperUniversity of AlabamaSenior
Rashad GreeneFlorida State UniversitySenior
Rashard HigginsColorado State UniversitySophomore
Tyler LockettKansas State UniversitySenior
Vince MayleWashington State UniversitySenior
Sterling ShepardUniversity of OklahomaJunior
Nelson SpruceUniversity of ColoradoJunior
Jaelen StrongArizona State UniversityJunior
Kevin WhiteWest Virginia UniversitySenior

Fans may now help determine which three receivers will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote website. Fan voting for the three semifinalists will close on November 23.

The top three aggregate fan votes for receiver will each count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote for each of those three receivers for finalists. Following the finalists' selection, the subsequent top single aggregate fan vote for receiver will count as the equivalent of one national selection committee vote in selecting the winner.

The three Finalists will be announced on Monday, November 24. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 11, 2014.

/// SoonerSports PR
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This