Baker Mayfield Named Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

After tabulating the results of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee's ballots, as well as more than 2.5 million fan votes, Baker Mayfield was one of four Big 12 quarterbacks listed as a Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist. Joining him were TCU's Boykin, Texas Tech's Patrick Mahomes and Baylor's Seth Russell. (Russell will not be eligible for the award. He was voted into the semifinalist group, but will miss the remainder of the season because of injury. Foundation guidelines allow for an injured player to be honored as a semifinalist and the quarterback with the next highest vote total also included.)

After clearing the first round totals, the fan vote at VoteOBrien.org will reopen Tuesday, Nov. 3 and remain open until noon CT on Sunday, Nov. 22, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as they wish.

The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O'Brien Foundation and the Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 24. The 2015 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced live on "The Home Depot College Football Awards Show" on Thursday, Dec. 10.

The 39th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 15, 2016, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Past OU winners of the Davey O'Brien Award are Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Sam Bradford (2008).

2015 Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalists

Trevone Boykin, TCU
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky
Luke Falk, Washington State
Jared Goff, California
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Cody Kessler, USC
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Patrick Mahomes, Texas Tech
Baker Mayfield, OklahomaDak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Josh Rosen, UCLA
Seth Russell, Baylor
Greg Ward Jr., Houston
Deshaun Watson, Clemson

/// SoonerSports PR

Are you on Google+? Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This