Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Baker Mayfield Named Walter Camp Player of the Year Finalist

Oklahoma junior Baker Mayfield was named one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2015 Player of the Year award Wednesday.

Joining Mayfield on the list of finalists are fellow quarterback Deshaun Watson (Clemson), running backs Derrick Henry (Alabama) and Christian McCaffrey (Stanford), and defensive back Desmond King (Iowa).

The 2015 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is selected by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 10 during the 5 p.m. CT edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 16, 2016, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven, Conn. Former University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the award last year.

Mayfield, who has directed OU to a 5-0 record against AP Top 25 teams (3-0 on the road), ranks No. 2 nationally in yards per pass attempt (9.6), No. 3 in pass efficiency rating (178.9), No. 5 in passing TDs (35), No. 6 in points responsible for per game (21.0) and No. 8 in pass completion percentage (.686).

RELATED: Baker Mayfield Named National Player of the Week

He has piloted Sooners to seven straight wins (they are averaging a nation-leading 52.0 points per game during the stretch) and has accounted for 42 touchdowns and only five turnovers (8.4 to 1 ratio) on the season. OU has surpassed 500 yards of total offense in nine of 12 games, including in each of the last seven.

Mayfield has thrown for at least one touchdown in all 12 games and for at least three TDs in eight contests. He has also rushed for 420 yards and seven scores.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. A former Yale University athlete and football coach, Camp is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to 11 men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and continue the tradition of selecting an annual All-America team.
Mayfield Named Manning Award Finalist

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 12 finalists for this year's award on Wednesday and Mayfield is on the list.

The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Manning Award Finalists

Brandon Allen, Sr., Arkansas
Trevone Boykin, Sr., TCU
Connor Cook, Sr., Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, Sr., Western Kentucky
Kevin Hogan, Sr., Stanford
Chad Kelly, Jr., Ole Miss
Paxton Lynch, Jr., Memphis
Baker Mayfield, Jr., OklahomaDak Prescott, Sr., Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Sr., Navy
Greg Ward Jr., Jr., Houston
Deshaun Watson, So., Clemson

/// SoonerSports PR

Are you on Google+? Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This