Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Ty Darlington Wins Wuerffel Trophy

Oklahoma offensive lineman Ty Darlington is the winner of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy, announced by Danny Wuerffel at the National Football Foundation’s Press Conference at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York.

The All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, Florida, presents the Wuerffel Trophy to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best exhibits exemplary community service.

“We are honored to announce that Ty is the recipient of this years Wuerffel Trophy,” said Wuerffel. “The selfless work that he did by serving others not only in Oklahoma, but around the world as well, is really what the award is all about. We are proud to have him as part of our family of past winners.”

Darlington is the third Big 12 player to win the award since it was first presented in 2005, joining his former teammate Gabe Ikard (2013) and Sam Acho (Texas, 2010).

The senior center from Apopka, Florida, assisted Oklahoma to an 11-1 regular season record and appearance in the CFP semifinals in 2015. He has helped lead three mission trips to Haiti with Mission of Hope, while also leading numerous volunteer efforts (tornado relief, Children’s Hospital Visits, President of Oklahoma University Fellowship of Christian Athletes, etc.) in Oklahoma. He completed his undergraduate degree in Arts and Sciences in only 2.5 years, and currently has a 4.0 GPA in graduate school. Darlington is also a member of the National Football Foundation’s 2015 Scholar-Athlete Class, where he is a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy..

The Wuerffel Trophy is named after Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winner, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League, and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries, in New Orleans, Louisiana, and around the country.

As the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy recipient, Darlington will be interviewed on “The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show” airing on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Thursday at 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST. The show will feature interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach the new location for The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia.

Darlington will be presented with the Wuerffel Trophy at the All Sports Association’s 47th Annual Awards Banquet on Feb. 12, 2016, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit

/// PR

Are you on Google+? Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This