OU's Buddy Hield Named Finalist for Oscar Robinson National Player of the Year Award

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced Monday that Oklahoma senior guard Buddy Hield is among 11 finalists for the USBWA's Oscar Robertson Trophy as the men's national player of the year.

The USBWA player of the year award will be presented on April 11 at the College Basketball Awards gala and dinner at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. Also presented at the dinner will be the Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award, Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, and the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award presented by Love's Travel Stops and the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award for the women's national player of the year.

On the season, Hield is averaging 25.4 points, 5.5 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.3 steals in 34.7 minutes per game. He’s shooting .496 (229-462) from the field, .481 (117-243) from 3-point range (which ranks No. 3 in the nation) and .894 (135-151) from the charity stripe. His 5.5 rebounds per game total is best among Big 12 guards.

He currently ranks fifth in Big 12 history in 3-point field goals made in a career (319) and sixth all-time in points scored (2,076). Hield needs just 22 more points to move into fifth place on the Big 12’s all-time scoring list (Nick Collison of KU currently stands fifth with 2,097 career points).

The Bahamas native has nine games this season scoring at least 30 points (same total as the rest of the players in the Big 12 combined). It’s the most 30-point games by a Sooner in a season since Jeff Webster in the 1993-94 season (10). In his career, he has 11 30-point games, which ties Kevin Durant for the second-most in Big 12 history (record by Michael Beasley-13).

Hield’s 72 3-pointers made in Big 12 play this year mark the most in a conference campaign in Big 12 history (averaging 4.5 3-point makes per Big 12 contest). He has made at least five 3-pointers in a game 12 times this year and his 117 total 3-pointers made this season are the most in college basketball.

Other finalists for the award include: Grayson Allen (Duke), Malcolm Brogdon(Virginia), Kris Dunn (Providence), Brice Johnson (North Carolina), Georges Niang (Iowa State), Jakob Poeltl (Utah), Ben Simmons (LSU), Tyler Ulis(Kentucky), Jarrod Uthoff (Iowa) and Denzel Valentine (Michigan State).

Voting for the awards is conducted by members of the USBWA. The USBWA is comprised of over 900 sports journalists covering college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites.

Buddy Hield Named to Late Season Top 20 List for Wooden Award
Buddy Hield Named Finalist for Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award

////SoonerSports PR

Are you on Google+? Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This