Oklahoma Defeats Oklahoma State to Win Big 12 Title

Baker Mayfield passed for 288 yards and three touchdowns and No. 7 Oklahoma defeated No. 11 Oklahoma State 38-20 on Saturday in a matchup that decided the Big 12 champion.

The Heisman Trophy candidate performed well throughout, despite finishing the game without top receiver Dede Westbrook, a Biletnikoff Award finalist. Westbrook caught four passes for 111 yards before being knocked out of the game on a crushing hit by Oklahoma State safety Jordan Sterns.

Samaje Perine rambled for 239 yards on 37 carries for the Sooners (10-2, 9-0 Big 12, No. 9 College Football Playoff), who won their 10th Big 12 title under coach Bob Stoops.

Mason Rudolph completed just 11 of 25 passes for 186 yards for Oklahoma State (9-3, 7-2, No. 10 CFP). His top target for the season, James Washington, caught just two passes for 50 yards on eight targets.

It was the second straight time the teams met in the regular-season finale to determine the conference champion. Oklahoma beat the Cowboys 58-23 last season. (AP/SoonerSports.com)

10 Oklahoma State314 3020 
Oklahoma017 14738 
First Downs17 25
Total Yards 403 629
Pass Comp-Yards 11-186 13-288
Rushes-Yards 37-217 52-341
Penalties-Yards 3-22 4-54
3rd Down Conversions 4-15 6-13
4th Down Conversions1-2 1-1
Fumbles Lost2-0 3-1
Interceptions 0 0
Time of Possession 24:53 35:07
Are you on Google+? Add +Oklahoma Sooners Blog to your Circle!
Share this PostTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This