Beal, Lewis Named to Nagurski Watch List

NORMAN, Okla. -- Two Oklahoma players are part of the 2010 Bronko Nagurski Award watch list that was released today. The award is presented annually by the Football Writers Association of America to college football's top defensive player. Jeremy Beal and Travis Lewis are the two players earning the recognition. Beal, a senior defensive end, led Oklahoma with 19 tackles for loss and 11 sacks, the fourth-best season in school history, in 2009. He logged his career-high tackle total against Texas with 12, including 11 that were unassisted. He currently ranks No. 6 in Sooner history with 20.5 sacks. Lewis, a junior linebacker, has been OU's top tackler in each of his first two seasons. Last season, he was credited with 109 stops. He also led the team's linebackers with 9.5 tackles for loss. The San Antonio native needs 82 tackles to crack OU's top 10 career list in that category. The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 6 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. The event is hosted by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Three Sooners on Outland Watch List

NORMAN, Okla. -- Three Oklahoma players are on the first Outland Trophy watch list released prior to the 2010 college football season. The three are offensive tackle Cory Brandon, center Ben Habern and defensive tackle Adrian Taylor. Brandon, a 6-7, 310-pound senior, currently sits atop the Sooner depth chart at right tackle. He is the most experienced player along OU’s offensive front with appearances in 30 Oklahoma games. Habern, a sophomore, was the starting center last season as a freshman from game two through 11. He was felled by an ankle injury at Texas Tech and missed the final two contests of the campaign. Taylor, a senior, had a breakout season in 2009 when he registered 37 tackles, including seven for loss and 3.5 sacks. He also knocked down one pass, recovered one fumble and blocked a kick. The award is presented annually by the Football Writers Association of America to the outstanding college offensive lineman or defensive tackle. The FWAA All-America Committee will select three finalists in late November and eventually the overall winner. The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. It is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 13 in Omaha, Neb.


Castiglione Addresses Oklahoma's Future in Big 12 Conference

NORMAN, Okla. -- University of Oklahoma Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Programs and Director of Athletics Joe Castiglione held a press conference Tuesday to discuss OU's commitment to the Big 12 Conference.

Castiglione issued a statement and answered questions from the media for approximately 45 minutes inside the Kerr-McGee Stadium Club at the Lloyd Noble Center.

View archived video of the press conference by clicking the video player at the right.

Earlier in the week, Castiglione and University President David L. Boren released the following joint statement regarding OU’s decision to remain in the Big 12:

“The decision to stay in the Big 12 represents a consensus position which resulted from a collaborative effort with our colleagues in the conference. We value the strong working relationship that has been reaffirmed during this process among the conference members. We intend to work very hard to make the conference as lasting and dynamic as possible. We appreciate the respect and interest that has been shown to OU during this process.”

--- SoonerSports.com


Big 12 Announces TV, Times for Three Games

NORMAN, Okla. -- The Big 12 Conference announced the starting times for several of its games today. The games are among those that have been selected by the league's television partners. Three of the contests released today involve Oklahoma. The Sept. 11 game between the Sooners and Florida State in Norman has been selected as a national telecast by ABC and will begin at 2:30 p.m. The portions of the country that do not see the game on ABC will see it on ESPN2. The following week, on Sept. 18, when OU hosts Air Force, the starting time will again be 2:30 p.m., and the game will be carried by Fox Sports Network. The third of the Oklahoma games announced today is the Bedlam match-up with Oklahoma State at Stillwater, Okla., on Nov. 27. ABC will televise that game and has notified the league that the game will begin either at 2:30 p.m., or 7 p.m. Information on other OU games will be announced in the coming weeks.