All-Big 12 Team Packed With Sooners

IRVING, Texas -- Oklahoma earned a league-high seven slots on the media's 2010 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team the Conference announced Thursday. Sooners Ryan Broyles (at WR and PR), OL Stephen Good, RB DeMarco Murray, DL Jeremy Beal, LB Travis Lewis and DB Quinton Carter earned preseason honors.

OU senior Jeremy Beal and junior Travis Lewis were unanimous selections to the team along with Nebraska's Jared Crick.

Teammates Jerrod Johnson and Von Miller (Texas A&M), along with Crick and Toney Clemons (Colorado) were picked for individual awards.

Johnson was selected preseason Offensive Player of the Year, Miller and Crick tied for preseason Defensive Player of the Year while Clemons was chosen preseason Newcomer of the Year.

Johnson was named the preseason squad's quarterback after earning All-Big 12 Second Team honors at the conclusion of the 2009 season. The 6-5 senior led the league in total offense with 314.2 yards a game and was fourth in passing (275.3 ypg).

Miller was also chosen as a linebacker on the preseason team. He garnered All-Big 12 and All-America First Team accolades in 2009 when he led the nation in sacks with 17 and ranked fifth in tackles for loss (1.75/game). The hybrid linebacker/defensive end led the Big 12 in sacks, tackles for loss and forced fumbles.

Crick was named to the preseason team on the defensive line. He was All-Big 12 First Team last year with 73 tackles and 9.5 sacks. Clemons will join the Buffaloes' receiving corps after transferring from Michigan following the 2008 campaign. He played in 19 games and made three starts for the Wolverines, catching 12 passes for 106 yards. (SoonerSports.com)

Related: Complete All-Big 12 Team at Big12Sports.com


Sooners Projected to Win Big 12 South

IRVING, Texas -- Nebraska is the unanimous choice to repeat as the North division champion while Oklahoma has been selected first in the South in the 2010 Big 12 Football Preseason Poll, voted on by media representatives who cover the Conference.

The Cornhuskers received all 26 first-place votes and totaled 156 points. Missouri placed second, followed by Kansas State, Kansas, Colorado and Iowa State.

NU has been selected to win the North nine times and captured the division title in seven of those seasons. The Huskers have won outright or tied for the North crown on eight occasions and went on to become Big 12 champions in 1997 and 1999.

OU compiled 16 first-place votes in the South to finish with 146 points. Texas received the other 10 top votes and placed second with 140 points. Texas A&M was third ahead of Texas Tech, Oklahoma State and Baylor.

The Sooners lead the Big 12 with six Conference championships (2000, '02, '04, '06, '07, '08) and seven appearances in the title game. They have been picked first in the South eight times in the media preseason poll and finished the season at the top in five of those years. (SoonerSports.com)

Big 12 South Points
1. Oklahoma (16) 146
2. Texas (10) 140
3. Texas A&M 97
4. Texas Tech 68
5. Oklahoma State 53
6. Baylor 42

Big 12 North Points
1. Nebraska (26) 156
2. Missouri 125
3. Kansas State 79
4. Kansas 70
5. Colorado 61
6. Iowa State 55


Jones Named to 2010 O'Brien Watch List

NORMAN, Okla. -- Oklahoma quarterback Landry Jones has been named to the 2010 Davey O'Brien Award watch list released Wednesday by the Davey O'Brien Foundation in Fort Worth, Texas. Given annually to the nation's top quarterback, the 2010 Davey O'Brien award winner will be announced December 9 at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show. After taking over under center for the Sooners in 2009 following Sam Bradford's season-ending shoulder injury, Jones led the nation's freshmen QBs in passing yards (3,198) and TD passes (26). The yardage figure also set an OU record for yards in a season by a freshman passer, surpassing the 3,121 by Bradford in 2007. Jones ended the 2009 campaign by setting an Oklahoma bowl record with 418 yards along with three touchdowns in the 31-27 Brut Sun Bowl victory over Stanford. The Artesia, N.M., native also broke a program record with six passing TDs against Tulsa en route to being named Big 12 Offensive Freshman of the Year honorable mention by league's coaches and All-Big 12 Freshman by ESPN.com. Oklahoma athletes have won the award four times including three times under Bob Stoops. Sam Bradford (2008) was the latest recepient of the award. (SoonerSports.com)


Single Game Tickets Available Aug. 2

NORMAN, Okla. -- OU football single-game tickets will once again be in high demand for the 2010 season. Single-game tickets go on sale to the general public on Monday, Aug. 2, but Oklahoma fans can get tickets sooner with the following "members-only" pre-sales: Buy a Ticket Marketplace membership by July 26 at noon to gain access to this special sale. Ticket Marketplace memberships are just $25. Members will also have access to hard-to-find or sold-out tickets throughout the season. Additional information and access codes for each of these special pre-sales will be sent to members via email. Make sure to sign up by the deadlines listed above so you don't miss out. (SoonerSports.com)


Selmon Inducted Into CoSIDA Hall of Fame

NORMAN, Okla. -- Dewey Selmon became the third Oklahoma Sooner football player inducted into the College Sports Information Director's of America (CoSIDA) Academic Hall of Fame Tuesday night in San Francisco. The event took place during the annual CoSIDA Convention. Selmon became the third OU football player to be so honored. His brother, Lee Roy, was inducted in 1993 while Jack Mildren followed in 1998. Dewey, an Academic All-American in 1975, has devoted his life to youth and service. Active in a number of community efforts, he chaired one of the local fund-raising campaigns that helped with the construction of the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History. He held the position of Norman Housing Authority commissioner and led fund-raising efforts for Norman's Food and Shelter for Friends, a homeless shelter. Selmon also has served as a United Way volunteer for a number of years, was a basketball coach at Community Christian School and served as a Sunday School teacher for a number of years. He also has been involved in fund-raising campaigns for the American Lung Association, the Ronald McDonald House and the Children's Miracle Network. Since 2005, he has served on the Board of Directors for the Shine Foundation, a group started by his children that serves to meet the needs of people around the world. The group has focused on war-torn areas of West Africa and Selmon has made several trips to that area to build a school for the orphanage that serves as home for the hundreds of children left without parents after years of conflict in that part of the world. The other three inductees in this year's class were football standout Dr. James Kovach, '78 of the University of Kentucky, basketball standout Adonal Foyle, '99 of Colgate University and Connecticut College rowing star Anita DeFrantz, '74.