Kyler Murray Likes Joe Burrow Over Jalen Hurts in Heisman Race

Norm Hall/Getty Images
2018 Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray revealed his favorite to win the prestigious award -- he doesn’t reside in Norman.

Murray won the trophy in his only season as a starter at Oklahoma after becoming the only player in NCAA history to pass over 4,000 yards (4,361 yards) and rushing over 1,000 (1,001 yards). Murray was asked who he sees winning the Heisman ahead of the second weekend of November.

 "Our guy [Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts] kind of took a hit with that loss,” said Murray, of Jalen Hurts following Oklahoma’s loss to Kansas State on Oct. 26, via ESPN.com.

"I think right now, if somebody had to win, it'd probably be Joe Burrow."

Hurts, who leads the NCAA in pass efficiently, is currently fourth (26 votes) in ESPN.com's Heisman Watch after leading much of the season. LSU quarterback Joe Burrow (47 votes, 8 first-place) leads the weekly ranking ahead of a showdown of unbeaten in Tuscaloosa on Saturday against Alabama.

The Heisman Trophy, awarded annually to the most outstanding player, will have a new recipient on December 14th.

  • Tweet
  • Like It
  • Google +
Share this PostFacebook shareTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This