Kyler Murray Named Offensive Rookie of the Year

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports
Arizona Cardinals quarterback Kyler Murray added another honor on Saturday.

He was voted AP Offensive Rookie of the Year at the annual NFL Honors ceremony in Miami.

He received 26.5 votes, Oakland Raiders running back Josh Jacobs, a native Oklahoman, finished second with 13 votes and Titans receiver A.J. Brown had nine.

Murray threw 3,722 yards, completing 64.4% and 20 TDs. He added 544 rushing yards and four touchdowns on the ground in 16 starts.

He joined Cam Newton as only quarterbacks to throw 3,500-plus yards and another 500-plus yards on the ground in their rookie season.

Murray had 349 completions – third-most by a rookie in league history behind Carson Weintz (379, in 2016) and former Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford (354, in 2010).

The Murray-led Cardinals improved to 16th in total offense this season after finishing a league-worst 32nd in 2018.

Cardinals finished 5-10-1.

  • Tweet
  • Like It
  • Google +
Share this PostFacebook shareTwitter sharePin ThisShare on TumblrShare on Google PlusEmail This